top of page

Bashed, smashed and photographed


To start, I got a whole bunch of pieces of paper, scrunched them all up and held them up to a mirrored camera and took a photo. I then collected a series of textures, such as leaves, rusty metal and wood. I layered a texture over each of the pictures, found some animal eyes and BAM! I had a flat, grayscale, patterned photo of a piece of paper with some eyes stuck on.

While this provided a useful basis for character concepting, it's not a technique I'm a fan of. I prefer my designs to be mroe deliberate and less formed from chaos. That being said, if the old ideas well ever runs dry, I will be clamoring back to this method like a...similie...

The creature on the left is my personal favourite concept. I was pushed (violently and forcefully) into expanding on this guy further, by refining details, textures and adding depth as well as colour. Take a look at the brand new (name pending) GALAXICON, THE CONQUEROR!

Well, who knew? Doesn't that look much much better? The first thing I would do differently with Galaxicon the Conqueror would be give him a body and pose. A character's outfit, posture, body type, etc does a lot in terms of character design. Most communication is done non-verbally, and without a body, that is severely limited. How cna Galaxicon possibly conquer? He's just a face. For an example of just how much contextualisation for characters is essential, take a look at Galaxicon the Salesman.

Suave gentleman in the streets. Galactic conqueror and scourge of the universe in the sheets.

See? Now a potential almighty, planet eating, cosmic horror looks like a middle-aged used-car salesman...despite the obvious alien head. If a body can make THAT much difference, imagine what he'd look like if his body reflected his intergalactic reputation as destroyer of worlds. All hail Galaxicon.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page