top of page

Ethics in Game Design

Collecting metrics is just collecting user data, specific to your game. This can be a tricky issue, especially in terms of user privacy concerns. What data are you collecting? How are you collecting it? Who has access to it? With that in mind, let's talk about my own personal ethics in terms of SpaceRace.

The game was designed to be a gender neutral, not-too-difficult experience, with ad support and in-app purchases for cosmetic items. Right off the bat, I don't believe in making games with purchases that give acess to more content to the player. Now, I don't mean DLC. I mean specifically, purchases that add more of the same content. This is particularly relevant to multiplayer games like Clash Royale and the like. I also don't admire what Candy Crush has done with their IAPs. Stopping the game and locking content behind paywalls just seems wrong to me. It's too easy to lull someone into a ludic trap of rewarded spending that takes advantage of them. There is a line I don't wish to cross, and that line is Pokies machines. It's clear that most of them are designed by game designers, and I think it's an evil endeavour.

These machines are scientifically designed to take as much money out of people as possible before they realise. They lock you in with bright flashing colours and all the bells and whistles someone could ask for. The actions are juicy and emotive, and every button press feels, sounds and looks awesome. This is a good thing for a game to be, but to force someone to pay for that experience that a game should provide, especially a mobile game, especially when touting to be free to play. It's just wrong.

Space Race was designed to be juicy, and full of life and game feel. It was always designed to be. We didn't get there in the end, But I'm glad that I learnt about what evil things you can do with game design. I know now what to avoid when making games in the future.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page