top of page

Dear...sweet Maya

Maya and I met a few months ago. Like any couple, we had our ups and downs. Sure, the chemistry is there and...well, I don't like to kiss and tell. But lately, Maya has been distant. Cold. Confusing. We tried to spice things up between us by making a police station together, complete with textures and props. It wasn't our finest hour.

It all started out fine. Maya and I, working together from a blueprint I'd drawn, with a layout I'd discussed with an actual former police officer. But we just didn't have that inherent connection one needs with their modelling program. You see, I am still very new to these kinds of relationships (that is, the kind an amatuer game designer has with a complex 3D modelling program), so I didn't know the ins and outs of Maya. I didn't understand when to merge vertices and when to combine objects. I didn't understand normal mapping and specularity mapping my textures. Maya punished me for it. The model suffered for my mistakes.

But, there is hope. I've learnt how I need to approach Maya. I've learnt the way Maya loves, and I know now to make sure to give the program whatever it wants. We're going fine by the way. Maya is a fickle mistress, but I have learnt to tame her wild side. It's tough...but anything worth doing isn't easy, and Maya is worth it. I can be better for Maya. I will be better for Maya.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page